Time To Get Moving

tumblr_oe4cihat9a1u2kwfpo1_1280

Well hello there! Nice to see you again. I am now a 22 year old, third year creative writing student and I think it’s about time I got more of my writing online. I’m still going to be writing new content but I thought it would be fun to share more of the work I have created since being at uni. I would love feedback so as always feel free to comment and let me know what you think.

First I’m going to share a song I wrote with you. I wrote this for my lyric writing module last year, but the ideas had been stewing in my mind for a while. I really want to actually write some music for this track and record it at some point (with the help of Oli of course because I have very little musical talent). All of my lyrics are pretty personal and this one is no different but like all art it is very much elaborated and embellished unlike reality. Enjoy!

 

Failed Love Songs (for failed people)

We both fell fast and we both fell hard
like some Shakespeare shit taken to heart.
I ate Chinese at yours, you slept over at mine
it wasn’t all that romantic, never had the time.
I guess we wrote notes and texted into the night
just for a moment we went together just right.
Didn’t question tomorrow, didn’t cherish today
we just went with the flow, come what may.

It never really got started
We never really took off
Sure we made mix tapes
and maybe danced in the rain
We went to the movies
and had silly nicknames.

But it never really started,
we never really took off
You didn’t bring me home,
didn’t sing from the rooftops.
And this ain’t a love song,
another failed love song.

We went to cult movies, laughed in the dark
we marched through the streets making our mark.
I thought it was love, you thought it was fun
we never spoke about it, just decided to run.
I traced your freckles and played with your hair,
We tumbled to your bed without a care.
We woke up and I knew things were strange,
When you looked at me your eyes had changed.

It never really got started
We never really took off
Sure we made mix tapes
and maybe danced in the rain
We went to the movies
and had silly nicknames.

But it never really started,
we never really took off
You didn’t bring me home,
didn’t sing from the rooftops.
And this ain’t a love song,
another failed love song.

Would it have worked?
Could we have cared?
Would we have lasted?
Let’s not wonder, let’s not worry
maybe it’s better that…

It never really got started
We never really took off
Sure we made mix tapes
and maybe danced in the rain
We went to the movies
and had silly nicknames.

But it never really started,
we never really took off
You didn’t bring me home,
didn’t sing from the rooftops.
And this ain’t a love song,
another failed love song.

 

So there you go, the first song I am sharing on this blog. I hope you enjoyed it or at least found it kinda interesting. Feel free to leave feedback and let me know if you would like to hear this as a final recorded song one day.

Toodles.

 

Leave a Reply

